Today, in partnership, ESL Australia and Psyonix announce the ESL Rocket League Oceanic Championship. An online tournament series with a prize-pool of a combined $225,000 across three splits running from Aug 2020 to Apr 2021.

ANNOUNCEMENT TRAILER: ESL Rocket League Oceanic Championship
ANNOUNCEMENT TRAILER: ESL Rocket League Oceanic Championship

It isn't just money that the teams are competing for. The top teams from each split will earn points towards the Rocket League Championship Series (RLCS) X Majors and the Rocket League World Championship. These tournaments are where the world's best collide to prove who is the better Rocket League team.

Ben Green, Publisher Development Manager at ESL Australia commented:

Rocket League has always been a leader in the esports space, so the opportunity for us at ESL to partner with Psyonix here in the Oceanic region was something we jumped on. As the future of sport turns towards online platforms, we will look to deliver the evolution of digital competition, starting with the ESL Rocket League Oceanic Championship.

The tournament is broken up into three splits (or stages). Each split offers a prize-pool of $75,000USD to be shared across the top eight teams. The dates for each split are as follows:

  • Split #1 (Autumn): 15 Aug - 4 Oct 2020
  • Split #2 (Winter): Nov - Jan 2021
  • Split #3 (Spring): Mar - Apr 2021

The Oceanic Championship is open to players across the following countries: Australia, Fiji, Indonesia, New Zealand, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna, Norfolk Island, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Samoa, Tonga, and Tuvalu.